Peshawar Zalmi beats Karachi Kings in a match of PSL 8

Pakistan Super League (PSL) for 2023 is already underway. It is the eighth season of Pakistan’s own cricket league. In the second match of the league, the Karachi Kings were beaten by Peshawar Zalmi by just two runs. Karachi Kings won the toss and elected to field first.

While batting from the Peshawar Zalmi Side Tom Kohler-Cadmore scored the highest 92 runs on just 50 balls. Second to him was Babar Azam, he scored 68 runs on just 46 ball. After him James Neesham scored 16, he remained not out while Muhammad Haris scored just 10 runs. No one else entered double figures.

Overall, while batting Peshawar Zalmi scored 199 and given Karachi Kings the target of 200 runs to win the match. This total was very impressive and everyone thought it would be walk in the park for Peshawar Zalmi from that point, however, Karachi Kings did made things difficult for Peshawar Zalmi while batting but more on that later.

While bowling from Karachi Kings Mir Hamza, Andrew Tye, Imran Tahir and Ben Cutting took one wicket each. Other than that Muhammad Amir and Imad Wasim were not able to take any wickets. For Karachi Kings Imad Wasim was most expensive bowler, he gave 42 runs in his three overs, which he bowled.

About the batting of Karachi kings, Imad Wasim, the captain himself scored the most, 80 runs on just 47 bowls. After him Shoaib Malik scored 52 on just 34 balls. This great strike from Shoaib Malik brought the Karachi Kings back in match on a difficult time. And at that time it looked that the Karachi Kings will win the match, however, the turn of events after he Shoaib Malik got out, resulted in different result. After the shoaib’s 52 the highest score was from Matthew Wade, he scored 23 runs and Haider Ali scored 12.

Overall Karachi Kings was able to score 197 runs while trying chase 200 in reply to the 199 runs of Peshawar Zalmi. This way, Peshawar Zalmi won by just two runs. Tom Kohler-Cadmore was chosen as the player of the match for his 92 runs on 50 balls, which helped Peshawar Zalmi win the match.

If we talk of bowling of Peshawar Zalmi, Wahab Riaz and James Neesham took two wickets each, while Salman Irshad took one wicket.

There is a much more action to come in PSL 8, the PSL of year 2023. You can see the schedule of PSL 8 matches here as well as you can read about how to buy psl 8 tickets here. Also check our guide on how and where to watch cricket online from Pakistan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.