New Zealand wins third ODI and the series against Pakistan

Today New Zealand played the last match of their tour of Pakistan 2022-23. They were here in Pakistan, for two test match series and three ODI match series. The test match series was leveled between New Zealand and Pakistan nil to nil. In ODI series, first match was won by New Zealand, second by Pakistan, so by winning today’s match by two wickets, New Zealand not only won the third ODI but also the ODI series 2 to 1.

Pakistan Innings

Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat first. Pakistan’s opener Fakhar Zaman was the top scorer as he scored 101 runs. Pakistan also faced two early dismissals, which was Shan Masood going for a duck and Babar Azam just scored 4 runs after facing 13 balls. Then came Muhammad Rizwan, he played along with the opener Fakhar Zaman for the long time and scored 77 runs on 74 balls. Other than that, Agha Salman scored 45 and Haris Sohail scored 42 runs. For the rest, no one else scored in double figures. At the end of Pakistan’s 50 overs pakistan had lost 9 wickets, while they had given target of 281 runs to New Zealand to win the match.

From New Zealand bowling side Tim Southee took 3 wickets and Lockie Ferguson took two wickets. Other than that Michael Bracewell and Ish Sodhi took one wicket each. Mitchell Santner was not able to take any wicket in his 10 overs. All five mentioned bowlers bowled for full allowed 10 overs each.

New Zealand Innings

From New Zealand batting side, Glenn Philips played very impressive knock of 63 runs on 42 balls. Glenn Philips came out for batting when things were not looking so good for New Zealand and Pakistan’s odds of winning the match were much higher. However, his impressive batting turned the match on its head. Glenn was top scorer for New Zealand, his impressive 63 runs involved 8 boundaries, 4 sixes and 4 fours to be exact. He played with strike rate of 150 runs, he was star of the show and the player of the match for today’s ODI.

There were two other important fifties which helped New Zealand in going across the line. These were, 52 runs from Devon Conway and 53 runs scored by Kane Williamson. Other than that Daryl Mitchell scored 31, the opener Finn Allen scored 25, Tom Latham scored 16 and Mitchell Santner scored 15 runs. No one else from New Zealand side gone into double figures. Overall in just 48.1 overs and team New Zealand were able to chase the total and win the match by 2 wickets.

As far as Pakistan bowling side is concerned, Naseem Shah was missed today. I also I wonder why Abrar Ahmed was not added to Pakistan’s ODI squad after his exceptional bowling in tests. He was not given chance in even one ODI. Muhammad Wasim and Agha Salman took two wickets each while Usama Mir and Muhammad Nawaz took one wicket each. Muhammad Hasnain and Haris Rauf were not able to take any wickets.

Match Summary

Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat first. In their 50 overs Pakistan scored 280 runs and given the target of 281 runs to New Zealand to win the match. New Zealand successfully chased the target with in just 48.1 overs with 11 bowls remaining and two wickets in hand. This way New Zealand won the third ODI against Pakistan by 2 wickets.

On one moment it seem that Pakistan is in control but on the next Glenn Philips turned the match on its head by his 63 runs impressive knock on just 42 bowls. He won the Player of series award for this impressive performance.

New Zealand’s ODI Series Victory

By winning this match, New Zealand won the three One Day International (ODI) matches series by 2 to 1. As previously, first match of the series was won by New Zealand and second was won by Pakistan. Today however was nice comeback by New Zealand. Devon Conway was named the player of series for his consistent performance with the bat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.