Constitution of Pakistan
Constitution Home | Info Pakistan Home

Article 44: Term of office of President

1. Subject to the Constitution, the President shall hold office for a term of five years from the day he enters upon his office: Provided that the President shall, notwithstanding the expiration of his terms, continue to hold office until his successor enters upon his office.

2. Subject to the Constitution, a person holding office as President shall be eligible for re-election to that office, but no person shall hold that office for more than two consecutive terms.

3. The President may, by writing under his hand addressed to the Speaker of the National Assembly, resign his office.

Go Back