Constitution of Pakistan
Constitution Home | Info Pakistan Home

Article 246: Tribal Areas

In the Constitution,-

a. "Tribal Areas" means the areas in Pakistan which, immediately before the commencing day, were Tribal Areas, and includes-

i  the Tribal Areas of 166[Balochistan] and the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province;

ii. the former States of Amb, Chitral, Dir and Swat;

iii&iv. 168[**********]

b. "Provincially Administered Tribal Areas" means-

i. The districts of Chitral, Dir and Swat (which includes Kalam), the Tribal Area in Kohistan district, Malakand Protected Area, the Tribal Area adjoining Mansehra district and the former State of Amb; and

ii. Zhob district, Loralai district (excluding Duki Tehsil), Dalbandis Tehsil of Chagai District and Marri and Bugti tribal territories of Sibi district; and

c. Federally Administered Tribal Areas includes-

i. Tribal Areas adjoining Peshawar district;

ii. Tribal Areas adjoining Kohat district;

iii. Tribal Areas adjoining Bannu district;

iiia Tribal Areas adjoining Lakki Marwat district; and

iv. Tribal Areas adjoining Dera Ismail Khan district;

iva. Tribal Areas adjoining Tank District

v. Bajaur Agency;

va. Orakzai Agency;

vi. Mohmand Agency;

vii. Khyber Agency;

viii. Kurram Agency;

ix. North Waziristan Agency, and

x. South Waziristan Agency.

Go Back