Constitution of Pakistan
Constitution Home | Info Pakistan Home

Article 1: The Republic and its territories

1. Pakistan shall be Federal Republic to be known as the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, hereinafter referred to as Pakistan.

2. The territories of Pakistan shall comprise :-

a. the Provinces of

1. Balochistan, 2. Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, 3.Punjab and 4. Sindh;

b. the Islamabad Capital Territory, hereinafter referred to as the Federal Capital;

c. the Federally Administered Tribal Areas; and

d. such States and territories as are or may be included in Pakistan, whether by accession or otherwise

3. Majlis-e-Shoora (Parliament) may by law admit into the Federation new States or areas on such terms and conditions as it thinks fit.

Go Back